Governing & Advisory Boards

Atlanta Youth Academy is supported by many committed and faithful individuals, and the school is governed by two volunteer Boards. The AYA Board of Directors oversees the school’s adherence to the Christian mission, and the AYA Foundation Board of Trustees oversees the financial well-being of the institution. Members of the Board of Directors and the Foundation Board of Trustees support AYA in strategic planning for the future through setting appropriate policy.

Board terms are three years and new trustees are nominated by committee and voted on by current members of Board of Directors and Foundation Board of Trustees, respectively.

Along with AYA’s Board of Advisors, all Board members are close friends of the school who are dedicated to promoting the mission of Atlanta Youth Academy.

Board Members

Board of Directors

  • Mrs. Donyal Andrews
  • Mr. David Edwards
  • Mr. Harold Melton
  • Mr. Jay Simms
  • Mr. Larry Teem, Founder and Chairman

Foundation Board of Trustees

  • Mr. Frank H. Briggs, Jr., Chair Emeritus
  • Mr. Frank H. “Bo” Briggs, III
  • Mr. Lee Burrows
  • Mrs. Kim Daugherty
  • Mr. Dwayne Ellis
  • Mr. John Hamilton, Chair Emeritus
  • Mr. Warren Harper
  • Mrs. Judy Harrison
  • Dr. Sivan Hines, Chair Emeritus
  • Mr. Glenn James
  • Mr. Roger Key, Chair
  • Ms. Jenny Marks
  • Mr. Tremain McGlown
  • Mr. Heath Milligan
  • Mr. John Pearson
  • Mr. William M. Ragland, Jr.,
  • Mr. Erwin Reid
  • Mr. Jeff Terry
  • Mr. Doug Weston
  • Mr. Richard Willingham

Board of Advisors

  • Mr. Wayne Crowder
  • Mr. Larry Edge
  • Mr. Chuck Johnston
  • Mrs. Caitlin Jones
  • Mr. Sid Mashburn
  • Mr. Cooper Mills
  • Mr. Chris Morocco
  • Mr. Monte Norwood
  • Mr. Richard Parker
  • Mr. Chris Schoen
  • Mr. Steve Schuler
  • Mr. Jack Sibley
  • Mr. McKittrick Simmons
  • Mr. David Songy
  • Mr. Zach Young